The Vedas are ancient texts that are sacred in India and renowned the world
over. The word veda literally means knowledge. The root is vid, ‘to know’. The
Vedas are thus texts that provide knowledge.
There are four Vedas, known as the Rig Veda, the Yajur Veda, the Sama
Veda and the Atharva Veda. Many years ago, the Vedas were referred to as trayi
or three. There must have been some point of time when there were only three
Vedas. These are acknowledged to have been the Rig Veda, the Yajur Veda and
the Sama Veda. The Atharva Veda is believed to have been a later addition to the
sacred canon.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Rig Veda”

Your email address will not be published.


Lost your password?

Create an account?


Your cart is currently empty.